Content knowledge woes

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Camel13, Oct 22, 2017.

1. Camel13

Camel13 Companion

Oct 22, 2017

I am a first year teacher in a small rural school. I am teaching 6-12th science, and my degree is in secondary level integrated science which I obtained three years previous. While prepping for six separate grades is challenging, I am loving every minute and challenge. Recently, I have come up against some embarrassing moments in my Chemistry class, and sometimes my 9th grade Physical Science class in which I flub a problem I am trying to show them, create an erroneous problem in a worksheet, or cannot balance the formula myself that I assigned them in a quiz! Ideally, I would work through any problem I assign ahead of time, but honestly, I am working nonstop save for sleeping in creating lessons, grading, etc. I simply have no additional time.

Please someone tell me it is normal to flub so much at the beginning, and that students will not resent me for it! I feel the worst in front of my Junior and Senior students who desperately need my class to graduate, and while I might have obtained an A on all my college courses, most of them are five years or more in the past, and I am woefully out of practice! I cannot wait until summer so I can bone up on knowledge again!

3. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Groupie

Oct 22, 2017

I am always in shock when I hear of teachers teaching that many different courses (especially their first year!), and it makes me so glad for our strong union.