Considering Teaching High School - a few ?s

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by CuriousHenry, Sep 2, 2008.

1. CuriousHenry

CuriousHenry New Member

Sep 2, 2008

Hello All,

I am considering teaching high school, and I wasn't able to get a straight answer out of my university's advisor on the issues below.

1. I majored in economics, minored in psychology. I have the knowledge base to teach most of the social sciences because I took a variety of courses as an undergrad and read a lot on my own.

Would I have to specialize in economics only or would the credential allow me to teach a greater variety of courses? I would think that the greater variety would give me more options in the job market and also keep me intellectually engaged in the work.

2. Is there a website where I can get information on the job market for social science single subject credentials? If not, anyone have any experience or opinions on the matter, particularly for those interested in teaching in rural and semi-rural areas?

3. She suggested I look into intern credential programs since I graduated in 05 and have been working full time since then. I pressed for more information and she told me to "use the internets" to find more information on this. I did this and it took me to a few programs in Oakland and LA, where I'd prefer not to work. Anyone know much about this? Anyone know of reputable intern credential programs out there?

(the following was not discussed with the advisor because, well, its somewhat personal and she was not overly able or interested in helping)

4. I'm a fairly introverted person. One of the teachers I know told me that introverts burn out quickly in the classroom. Any introverts confirm/refute this?

Thank you

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 3, 2008