Considering Subbing

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by TeachAstro, Aug 11, 2010.

1. TeachAstro

TeachAstro Rookie

Aug 11, 2010

Hey everyone, I'm still relatively new to this forum but everyone has been extremely helpful! Anyway, I have a degree in astrophysics from Berkeley and, after taking this academic year off, plan to enroll in a teacher certification/Masters program. I've been looking for a job and am considering substitute teaching here in Sonoma county, thinking it will be good experience. Anyway, I had a couple questions that I couldn't find on this thread so I was hoping you could help.

First, in CA it says the 30-day sub permit allows me to work in any grade, K-12. I was wondering though, is it possible to "sign-up" for just high school (since that's where I want to teach)? Or more specifically, for science classes?

My second question is probably largely based on my first, but is the work steady? Will I have an assignment most/every day?

Thanks a lot for your time, I appreciate it!

3. substitutesftw

substitutesftw Companion

Aug 11, 2010

The best way to increase your workload for subbing is to work in a big district, preferable multiple districts. More schools= more potential jobs.

Doing a good job and networking ensures that the jobs you do have will lead to more. Teachers like having good subs work for them again, if possible, and they also spread the word to other teachers in their schools.

4. waffles

waffles Companion

Aug 11, 2010

If you only want high school science then I wouldn't count on steady work. I worked just about every day, but I also worked in whatever was open.

The way the computer system is set up for me I could tell it to only show me high school jobs. I can't tell it to only show me jobs in a certain subject.

5. KateA

KateA Rookie

Aug 11, 2010

I can't answer your question about how often you'll have an assignment since this is my first year.