Confused

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by DrivingPigeon, May 10, 2011.

1. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

May 10, 2011

I don't really know what to do about my current situation at school. I have been a kindergarten teacher at my school for 3 years. Kindergarten was never my dream job, and I would like to teach 1st, 2nd, or 3rd eventually.

A first grade position is open at my school for next year. My principal has known that I have wanted to eventually move up since my first year. He says very nice things about me (directly to me, and to other people), gives me great reviews, etc. When he heard that the first grade teacher was going to retire (back in January), he spoke to me about the position. He said that when he had the ok to hire, we would sit down with the other first grade teachers and talk. He wanted to make sure I was still interested.

So, a few weeks ago he came to me and said that he was going to post the job, and I would have to apply and interview (this is not a common practice in my district-usually they just move people within a building). The interview is 1 hour long, and then I have to teach a 15 minute literacy lesson to one of the first grade classes. Six people are being interviewed, and I am under the impression that teachers from other schools within the district have applied for the job, as well.