Confidence...

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by SuperMissM, Sep 26, 2008.

1. SuperMissM

SuperMissM Rookie

Sep 26, 2008

I think I lack confidence. I am in my second year of fifth, after moving up from K, 2 and PreK. I love my class, they're great again this year, but I still feel like Im not doing a great job.

All of the kids like my class, all of the parents like it, other teachers tell me great things and so does my principal.

There are some people I work with that make me feel inferior. They make me feel like I am not doing anything right and I feel like they critique everything I do.

What can I do to make me feel better? Talking to them about this wont work because I dont deal well with confrontation...

3. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Sep 26, 2008

who are these people that make you feel inferior? Sounds to me like they are jealous. maybe you should try not to deal with them as much as possible.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 27, 2008

Until you actually feel confident, you need to act as though you do. Honest. Put on a show for anyone who will watch it-- and do a great job. Make sure your clothes, your posture, your volume, the tone of your voice-- all need to exude confidence.

Your kids will start to pick up on it and treat you as if you HAD all that confidence. And soon you'll believe it yourself.

5. brigidy

brigidy Comrade

Sep 27, 2008

Don't give these people permission to make you feel inferior. I am sure you are doing a better job than the co-workers who make you feel inferior. Trust me on this. Remember this...there is NOT ONLY ONE WAY to teach a lesson. If you have a different method than another teacher, that doesn't mean it is wrong..just different.:)

6. CajunQueen

CajunQueen Rookie

Sep 27, 2008