Computer Science and/or Coding as a Graduation Requirement

Discussion in 'General Education' started by tchr4vr, Mar 7, 2016.

1. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Comrade

Mar 7, 2016

Just curious. I was doing some reading, and it looks like Chicago is implementing a new graduation requirement of computer science. Does everyone think this is a good idea? I agree that technology is a necessity, but coding and computer science. I have taken a coding class, out of curiosity, and I found it very tedious, and not something I will ever use. I love technology, and use it all the time, but not sure I need to know the code for it, or any of that. I know if I was a student, and some one expected me to take one of these for graduation, I would, but I wouldn't get a lot out of it. Just wondering what the consensus is.

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Mar 7, 2016

I believe in the basics for graduation. As much as technology is a part of our lives, I still don't think it is yet a necessity to prove a basic education. Sounds like they are just trying to cozy up with the STEM community.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Mar 7, 2016

I know that there has been some discussion here about adding coding to the curriculum at the elementary level. It wouldn't be an entire course, but some standards would be introduced.

5. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Mar 7, 2016

In my area, they are considering allowing students to substitute coding for the required foreign language. I'm not a fan of that, at all!

Pashtun likes this.
  6. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Mar 7, 2016

I don't know about making it a requirement, but allowing it to substitute for other classes, like the foreign language requirement, would be a positive.

7. Rox

Rox Cohort

Mar 7, 2016