Completely, utterly, totally freaked out about the big upcoming standardized tests.

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Pisces_Fish, May 11, 2009.

1. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

May 11, 2009

I'm a first year teacher, and while I've been worrying about the tests all year, I'm starting to panic because they're a week away. I feel like my kids aren't ready - but the problem is, I feel like they never will be!!

The grade level has F's all over the place (we're departmentalized.) All of us are at our wits end with these kids. I am not blaming the kids, but I do want to point out that the 23 year vet on my team tells me this is her worst group yet. They are rowdy, immature, lazy, and....I don't need to say more.

I can't bear the thought of half our kids failing...and if my hunch is right, that's where they're headed. I'm, just soooo thankful Im not in this alone, sortaspeak. All the teachers on my team are equally as concerned.

I laid in bed from 10:30pm until 2:30am tossing and turning over these tests. The Science test in tomorrow, while Math and Reading is next week. I hope, hope, hope they pass.

I really don't think I've worried over anything quite so much in my life. Something has to give...too much is riding on these stupid scores. :mad:

3. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

May 11, 2009

Breathe...Pisces...Breathe. Did they take practice tests?

4. frogger

frogger Devotee

May 11, 2009

You've worked hard all this year to get to this point and now it is out of your hands. You can't stress out over it because you are going to burn yourself out even faster. A lot of it won't ever change from your other posts about the school you are at and how things are there. There's more going on there and with the kids, the parents, the community for you to stress out about.