college text books: ebook or regular?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MsTeckel, Jun 3, 2012.

1. MsTeckel

MsTeckel Comrade

Jun 3, 2012

If you had a choice, would you get your college text book in an ebook to read on your ipad/kindle fire or would you get a regular book?

Im going back to get my early childhood special eduction approval and Im not sure how I want to get my books...

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 3, 2012

I'd get e-books.

4. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jun 3, 2012

Well, I graduated from college back in 2005 and back then I never heard of an ebook. Last year I took a class at the university to get my science credential and for the first time, I purchased an ebook. Personally, I didn't care for it. And, after a few weeks, the program stopped working (never did figure it out). Luckily, I was able to finish the class without the book, but still, I spent the money and didn't get to use it.

Meh. I would stick to the actual book. Then, just sell it back when you are done at the end of the school year.

And, it was nice to writing and make notes directly in the book.

But, I'm also old-school too. :p

5. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Jun 3, 2012

It's not as easy to make notes in an E book as a regular book. You also can't resell it.

6. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Jun 3, 2012

I absolutely would get e-books if I could- so much better than lugging around all of that stuff. I will say though, I have never been one to highlight or make notes in an actual book, so that wouldn't bother me.

7. KateL

KateL Habitué

Jun 3, 2012

If you have an iPad, you can highlight and make notes using the iBooks program.

8. MsTeckel

MsTeckel Comrade

Jun 3, 2012

i have a kindle fire actually...Theres pros and cons for each...I guess i'll wait until i know exactly what book I need. Its only for 1 class at a time..

9. Amanda

Amanda Administrator Staff Member

Jun 4, 2012