collaboration confusion???

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by sunni11, Feb 24, 2011.

1. sunni11

sunni11 Rookie

Feb 24, 2011

Hello again!

Although I have taught special ed for several years, I am new to the world of teaching students with severe needs. In many ways, I feel like a new teacher, which is hard for me! In the past, I have worked with teaching teams that were close knit; we collaborated, brainstormed, bounced ideas off each other, and had a great rapport. In my new environment, where I feel overwhelmed with a new grade level and students with a new type of disabilities, I am working with teachers that seem irritated with my requests for help or clarification. When I was working on my master's, I got the impression that collaboration was a valuable part of being a special ed teacher. Now I feel stupid, incompetent, needy, and annoying because I have questions and miss having a team to collaborate and share ideas with. Thoughts?

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Feb 24, 2011

Is there a time when you could meet as a team to talk?

Are you in a situation where the teachers teach all subjects or where they specialize in one subject?

Maybe you could make a planning time weekly with each teacher you work with? Or every other week?

When I was in special education and couldn't meet with teachers often, I asked them for a copy of their plan book and all copies that they were giving out on Thursday so that I could use Friday to modify or make accommodations.

4. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Feb 25, 2011