Co-worker Worry

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out Archives' started by Starista, Apr 15, 2006.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Apr 15, 2006

Hello! :)

I wasn't sure of the appropriate forum section to post this ~ so I thought I'd post it here! :)

I am a 5th year teacher (taught K for 4 years and 1st for 1) and just started at a new private school due to a move from DC to Florida. :)

I am very worried about the feelings of the two other 1st grade teachers, namely one in particular. She is also the 1st grade "grade leader." She has made comments that I am "too bubbly" and "too pure of heart." She also wouldn't let me write a letter to the parents (from all of the 1st gr teachers) as she said that when I write I am too "positive" and that she wanted the parents to take the note seriously. Also, she commented that she disliked when I asked if she was okay (she looked really sad when we were planning together) and said that she didn't like when peopel did that, as she just wanted to be left alone. :confused: :confused: :confused: I didn't know this!!

Anyways... I talked forever with my fiance about her and he told me not to worry, etc... It was the dat before our spring break so he mentioned that a break would be good...

But I am worried very much that she will be upset that I changed my room around a bit over the spring break. Next year we're adopting a wonderful new reading series (Harcourt Trophies) and it suggests that we have a word wall. Our current reading series is very lacking in the areas of site words, etc so I turned one of my classroom bulletin boards into a reading & writing word wall and posted the Dolch and Rebecca Sitton words on it. Most of the words on the word wall the children have already been introduced to and I think it will be a good tool for the remainder of the year.