co-teaching

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by drapes330, Sep 17, 2008.

1. drapes330

drapes330 Companion

Sep 17, 2008

Are there any other resource teachers co-teaching with general ed staff? The entire special ed staff of my school went to a seminar on this today. It was very interesting and seems like it will really reduce the amount of time the students are out of their general ed class (always a good thing for LRE, right?) and maybe be helpful to the other students as well. It sounds like this is something my school wants to implement.

...however, it seems to me that this is the kind of thing that should be a school wide initiative. Discussed at staff meetings, time devoted to training and prepping with the two teachers, etc. There is no indication that any of that will happen. I was kinda just told to "try to implement it." Am I supposed to just walk into someone's classroom and be like "hey, I'm co-teaching with you"? If I was a general ed teacher I can't say I would like that so much.

Is anyone else doing co-teaching in inclusion? What are your experiences? I'm trying not to stress about this...

3. stepka

stepka Comrade

Sep 17, 2008

My experience is limited but I subbed as the co-teacher today and from what I can tell, the regular teacher really likes it. I was able to take some of the load off of her and help the kids who needed it the most, and the kids appreciated it too, b/c they got the extra help they needed w/o having to go to a special class. Also, w/o actually saying or doing anything I could walk by and keep the ADD kids on task, even though they don't usually have IEPs--so I was able to help all the kids, not just the special kids. When all the kids have more help the teacher can do more with the kids.

I can't answer to how they divide up their duties, but I think that would have to be an individual thing based on your strengths. It's done a lot here in the St Louis schools and seems to be working.

4. AZSpedtchr