Co-Teaching?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by newgateacher, Jul 20, 2011.

1. newgateacher

newgateacher Rookie

Jul 20, 2011

Just wondering if anyone has experience with co-teaching. I am a new teacher and will be co-teaching math and reading in two different 3rd grade classrooms. I don't know a lot of details yet but would love to hear from anyone who has any experience.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jul 20, 2011

You need to define the co-teaching relationship with your other teachers. You will probably play different roles in each classroom and might even have more than one role in a classroom.

Do you want to teach? If so, make sure you speak up. You could alternate mini lessons or topics.

It's all about finding what works for you, the other teacher, and the class.

4. MMRbella

MMRbella Companion

Jul 29, 2011

This will be my 3rd year co-teaching. I love it. I really get along well with my co-teacher.

I'm the general education teacher. My co-teacher comes to my classroom for only 3 periods a day. I wish we were together all day. :( We've finally reached a point where she feels comfortable enough with the curriculum to parallel or station teach. She's a godsend when it comes to working with small groups- we each work with a group while remaining students work in stations. Within 50 min each day, we are able to meet with every single student in a small group and every student gets to participate in one station.

For math, I'll usually start the mini lesson before she arrives in the afternoon. When she gets there, I do a quick formative assessment and then break the kids into groups based upon their needs. We take turns doing all levels... it works out very well.