Cleveland area folks

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SouthJerseyguy, Apr 8, 2015.

1. SouthJerseyguy

SouthJerseyguy Rookie

Apr 8, 2015

It is that time of year again. We are strongly considering moving out to Ohio, probably Cleveland suburban area (my wife's work may relocate us, and she has family and friends there). My wife would prefer the eastern suburbs of the city and we know folks an hour west who love their area, too. We are currently in NJ, I am certified in NJ and PA. Our son will be starting 1st grade, and I am a mid-life career changer who doesn't have tenure (my background is mostly Elementary and Middle School). Where would you look if you were in my situation?

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Apr 8, 2015

Ohio is tough. I grew up in the Akron area and now live in Columbus. I would live somewhere central and be okay with a commute.

Lots of charters in some of the cities.

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Apr 8, 2015

My original certificate was from PA. Depending on how long you've had yours, you might need to take the Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) Praxis. I'd start looking at the Ohio Department of Education site to gauge your search options.

I will also take the opportunity to point out that my online school, along with many others, tends to hire teachers from all over the state. Some work in regional offices, others from home.

5. SouthJerseyguy

SouthJerseyguy Rookie

Apr 8, 2015

Thanks for the responses. I finished up my teaching masters and received my PA and NJ certs in 2012. I will definitely be in touch about the online info.

Thanks for the info.

6. Tutor

Tutor Comrade

Apr 8, 2015

Lorain City (west suburbs) is having a big hire this year but it is very urban.

7. SouthJerseyguy

SouthJerseyguy Rookie

Apr 10, 2015

Ohio middle school

Two big questions: