Classroom procedures - how long to practice?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by maestracuartogr, Aug 8, 2009.

1. maestracuartogr

maestracuartogr New Member

Aug 8, 2009

Greetings! This is my first post and I am so happy to be *here*!

I am a first-year teacher and have enjoyed reading Harry Wong's book, The First Days of School. I want to implement his suggestion of practicing classroom procedures and routines for the first two weeks of school, but my question is: is it truly necessary to do it for two weeks? Within those two weeks, do you start to teach academic content? If so, at what point?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

3. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2009

I actually do it longer than two weeks. You will feel rushed to get started with curriculum content but try to make sure you have established a great learning environment first! I do not think 2 weeks will be enough. You might start slowly adding stuff in to your routine, but do not hesitate to stop what you are doing to practice the correct way to come to the carpet, the correct way to walk or whatever it is!

Last edited: Aug 8, 2009
  4. maestracuartogr

maestracuartogr New Member

Aug 8, 2009

Thank you very much for writing back!

Do you really practice the routines day in and day out for those two weeks? I guess I am having a hard time imagining what that would be like! (I know - things have changed a lot since I was in school!) I guess I might feel like a drill sargeant if all we did was practice, practice, practice. Am I still totally confused? :)

Do you do activities related to the procedures, like, games to quiz their knowledge on the procedures? When do you introduce the first curriculum content?

Thanks again!

5. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2009

Okay - I teach first grade..I thought I was in the 1st grade forum...but I'm not!! So, I have no idea how long it takes 4th graders to catch on so....anyway...