classroom management

Discussion in 'High School' started by muilan, Aug 9, 2007.

1. muilan

muilan New Member

Aug 9, 2007

I am in my second semester of a Post Graduate Diploma in Education course.
    At the end of my first semester, I was offered an English teaching post at a Muslim school teaching Years 8 - 10.
    I am so frustrated because I just cannot get the year 10's to be interested in their lessons.
    No matter what I say, they do not bother, they talk among themselves and when I try psychology on them, they tune off as they consider it boring stuff.
    Help, someone out there help.

3. OtterMom

OtterMom Comrade

Aug 9, 2007

Are the other teachers at the school having similar problems with those students? I've found that it's sometimes valuable to brainstorm with others who share your problems or students. They might have some ideas about how to combat the attitudes you're facing.

It sounds like you're not having the same problems with the other grade levels, so I think it's THEM, not you.

I hope you find a solution soon. Good Luck!

4. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Aug 9, 2007

Have a class meeting with them. Chances are there are other kids in the class who are annoyed too, so use that to your advantage.