Classroom management

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mr.history, Aug 31, 2014.

1. Mr.history

Mr.history Cohort

Aug 31, 2014

Hello everyone,
    Have you ever tried to help another teacher who was having a rough time with classroom management? My school hired a new teacher who is having a rough time with his classes. I think a lot of his problems come from his "presence" in the classroom. Hes a smaller guy and kinda timid and apparently the kids (high school) have been giving him a lot of trouble. I actually feel really bad for him, its his first year teaching, we are only a few weeks into the school year and I've heard others say hes already talking about quitting/not liking his job because of it.

I'm only in my second year teaching but I don't really have this problem. When I'm in the classroom students generally just listen to me but I'm kind of a bigger guy with a much more authoritative presence. I haven't watched him teach to see if he looks nervous/intimidated but just from speaking with him in the halls I could see where his demeanor might make him seem like someone the kids could take advantage of. I hope that doesn't sound mean or judgmental but its just the impression I get. I talked with a few of the other teachers to see if we could come up with a way to help him but I didn't really get much advice.

The thing is that we don't really work in a bad school. Its pretty rural and the admin is pretty strict and supportive of teachers. At the same time they don't want teachers turning in stacks of referrals every week either. Not really sure how to help the guy. Have any of you ever seen someone almost run out of the classroom a few weeks in? Where you able to offer any helpful advice?

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Aug 31, 2014

I offer advice where I can when asked, but generally some things can only be figured out on their own and through their own personal study. I think demeanor and presence are one of these things.