Classroom management

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by macteach, Mar 28, 2011.

1. macteach

macteach Rookie

Mar 28, 2011

As a somewhat new teacher, I feel like I have that group of kids that has just been a real challenge. Just lately, they have been really out of control. It seems like nothing is working. I have tried rewards, consequences etc. Would you recommend stopping all instruction and just going over proceedures again? I am really thinking of doing this tomorrow. Any other ideas?

3. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Mar 28, 2011

Going over procedures again could be helpful - wouldn't hurt. Is it the class as a whole, a few students, or a group of students. Are there consistent instigators? What are the biggest behavioral concerns, and why do you think they are happening? What are your current procedures?

4. macteach

macteach Rookie

Mar 28, 2011

Well, I have about 4 students that are really the instigators of most of the behaviors. They interrupt during teaching time and they are just not nice to one another. The four students that are really the worst are very much a handful. I have one that is ADHD and he is really a distraction to the rest of the group. I think it is happening because I really don't have any consequences that are bad enough to deter the behavior. I have made them call parents before. I have no recess to take and the parent support is really not there for the ADHD student. I am thinking rather than reteach the same proceedures to the whole group I probably need to keep the 4 instigators in at recess to practice routines. Any ideas?

5. jen12

jen12 Devotee

Mar 28, 2011

What age are your students? I've noticed that sometimes certain kids are just sick of each other by this time of the year. It drives me up the wall when they fight with each other.