Classroom management tips?

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by Miss~Blue, Nov 14, 2009.

1. Miss~Blue

Miss~Blue Rookie

Nov 14, 2009

I'm placed in a 1st grade class this year. I do fine when I'm working with them while going around from child to child or in small groups. I'm not technically supposed to be teaching lessons yet till next semester and I only have to teach a couple since I'm only a junior. I taught a couple lessons already because I was curious about how it would go and I wanted experience before I tried it next semester. The lessons went okay so far, but I...feel a bit uneasy since a couple of weeks ago the teacher went to the doorway to check up on a 6th grade class across the hall and the students started talking.

I tried to use the method my teacher uses to quiet the class down and it did not work at all. A handful of students listened to me, but there was a group of 3-5 that would not and were quite disrespectful towards me. I really want to know some tips on how to manage behavior since next semester when I actually teach lessons seriously...I want the class to take me seriously as another teacher in the room.

3. Mrs. Q

Mrs. Q Cohort

Nov 14, 2009

The veteran teachers can offer you more, I'm sure, but I do know that within a certain limit, they're never going to respect you as much as their teacher. They know that they have a teacher and that you're just a stand-in for a while... so you're never going to be an equal, in their eyes. I think that element, at least, will be gone once you have your own classroom b/c they will see YOU as the one that's filling that "real teacher" role.

4. love2read

love2read Rookie

Nov 14, 2009