Classroom Management Question

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by themilocat, Sep 19, 2011.

1. themilocat

themilocat Rookie

Sep 19, 2011

I'm a first year teacher who just started 2 weeks ago (school started on August 17). I was hired to replace a teacher that was moving. The previous teacher had set up routines and procedures, and the class was going along smoothly.

My mentor suggested I take a week and work on community builders and procedures with my kids during my first week, but the previous teacher wanted me to go on with the curriculum. Now, I am facing some behavior issues, and lots and lots of off topic talking, and I wish I had done what my mentor suggested.

Should I stop curriculum now to work on community builders and procedures? This would put me a week behind the other 5th grade class (we've been making lesson plans together and doing the same things).

The only classroom management system that was in the classroom when I started was a team points system, where teams would get points for working together, staying on task, and helping each other when necessary. On Fridays, the team with the most points get to eat lunch in the classroom.

Do you have any tips for classroom management for 5th graders (I've never worked with any grade above 3rd, and just came from working with preschoolers!)?

Also, any tips on handling the 5th grade attitude? How about the ones that want to argue about everything I say? I have one student who just grins whenever he does something wrong, and even the principal is at a loss for what to do with him. I also have 2 that are partners in crime, and we've been working with the counselor and principal on their behavior.

Any tips/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Sep 19, 2011