Classroom Management: HELP NEEDED.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by remoes, Aug 24, 2010.

1. remoes

remoes New Member

Aug 24, 2010

Hello all,

I'm new to the forums and I am desperately seeking help with respect to classroom management. I work as a paraprofessional at a K-8 charter school in Cleveland, OH. The Friday before kids came back, the principal pulled me into her office, explained that the language arts teacher had quit, and that I was to be his replacement. I do have a sub license, which I attained in order to work as a tutor, but I have no formal classroom experience. The kids I teach are 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th. Today we are in the third week of instruction.

Here's where it gets interesting. My kids are incredibly ill-behaved, disrespectful, rude... the list goes on. Here are some of the things that I have to deal with on a daily basis:

1) Blatant, out and out defiance. Refusal to listen to commands by the teacher.
    2) Fights, physical and verbal.
    3) Getting out of the seats and floating around the room.
    4) Rude, disrespectful behavior, including insults directed at myself or other students.
    5) Accessing inappropriate and unrelated websites when assigned to do work on the computer.
    6) Volume. Students refuse to stop speaking while I am speaking. Volume escalates to the point where yelling at 75% my capacity just so I have a forum with which to communicate commands to the classroom has no effect on students, as they are talking so loudly that they cannot hear me.
    7) Refusal to sit at the desk and face forward.
    8) Refusal to participate in classroom activities, including quizzes, direct instruction, quizzes, and formal testing.
    9) Refusal to relocate to another desk for disrupting classroom activities.
    10) Students leaving the room without permission.
    11) Refusal to adhere to school uniform policy. Refusal to take off hoodies/silly bands/stop making tattoos on themselves when instructed to do so.