Classroom Management Advice?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by NewTeacher05, Oct 1, 2013.

1. NewTeacher05

NewTeacher05 Rookie

Oct 1, 2013

Hello!
    I am a first year K teacher. For the most part I cannot complain about my kids, I have no tantrums, hitting to be mean, or any extreme problems. I do have 2 issues I would like advice on:

1) I have two girls who fake sick everyday. Everyday every 5 mins I have to hear how they are soo sick and head, stomach, throat, etc hurt. They fake it to the extreme that they break down in a crying fit about it and do not do work. At that point since they are being disruptive I send them to the nurse, she keeps them for like 20 mins (they are very persuasive in their faking with the crying, hyperventilating and all) and then will send them back with nothing wrong with them. They then will continue to say they are still soo sick and put their head down and not to work until I basically have to threaten them with a consequence. I do acknowledge they are sick and tell them to go tell mommy when they get home b/c I do not have medicine for that here at school before they begin the crying and will listen to their " sick problems" because I realize this is an attention/need mommy nuturing issue but listening is not solving it. Besides their "sickness" these girls are both very well behaved in class. I sent notes home today saying their child has been "sick" everyday and missing out on learning, so we will see if the behaviors continue, but I think they will because this goes on everyday and what are their parents going to say? Stop being sick? Another issue I have with this is I have a lot of copycats who think they are being "cute" when they see the girls being sick and will put their head down and say how they feel sick too, however their behavior is not as extreme as the girls because they know I know their faking, but is very distracting dealing with both the girls and the copycats every single day.