Classroom Management Advice Wanted!- What To Do When The Class Seems Against You

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by ABelle16, Feb 8, 2017.

1. ABelle16

ABelle16 New Member

Feb 8, 2017

Hi everyone,

I'm a first year teacher who is having some serious classroom management challenges teaching 6th grade social studies! I student taught in this school last semester and had a pretty successful experience (despite some rookie management issues) but I guess I had the support and resources of my mentor plus my two classes had some highly motivated seventh graders. Then in December I took over for a teacher who abruptly and mysteriously left mid-year and had a sometimes catastrophic time managing the classroom.

I got new students for the second semester 2.5 weeks ago, and I'm already having all kinds of issues with one of my classes. None of my classes are particularly well-disciplined and structured, but I barely have a hold on one class- and it is only 19 students in a good school! They constantly talk over me, roll their eyes at me and ignore my re-directions. Whenever I calmly and privately tell them to do things like put away snacks or return to the task at hand they ignore me, and some try to turn it into a debate about how unfair and boring I am.