Classroom Layout advice - First Year!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Enthusiastic5, Jul 15, 2009.

1. Enthusiastic5

Enthusiastic5 Rookie

Jul 15, 2009

Hello all!

I'm a first year teacher, elementary ed and special ed cert. and will be taking my first classroom on Sept 1. I have 32 students on my roster and an inclusive classroom (5 IEP's).

QUESTIONS ABOUT CLASSROOM PHYSICAL LAYOUT:

1) Would you place the students in groups immediately or in rows initially until you learn more about your students? (without knowing how the students work together and whom should not sit with whom?)

I am naturally apt to cooperative learning and constructivism in groups of 3-4, but with a large group, teachers have told me that I am "nuts" for setting up groups on DAY 1 with 32 in a class.

2) HOW would you layout the room physically? How do you like to layout YOUR ROOM? My 5th grade classroom is about 12' x 25' and I have blackboards on two sides. I realize how hard this is to answer without actually seeing my room, but I appreciate any thoughts. Some of my thoughts you could possible vote on are but not limited to by any means):
    STRAIGHT ROWS
    ROWS IN A FAN FACING THE BLACKBOARD
    GROUPS IN A FAN
    GROUPS EACH IN THEIR OWN "C" SHAPE
    ALL DESKS IN A "C" SHAPE
    YOUR OWN IDEA PERHAPS?

HUGE THANKS!!! :thumb::help:

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jul 15, 2009

I personally always do groups -- but I don't teach 5th either. All of our 5th grade teachers use groups, as do our 4th grade. Two of our 3rd grade teachers use the double horseshoe method and swear by it. It isn't for me, but I find it to be preferrable to rows.

Double horeshoe -- outside is like a giant C, inside is just a single line that is one desk shorter than the C on each side and is tucked inside the C.

4. passionateacher

passionateacher Comrade

Jul 15, 2009