Classroom Discipline plans

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by Teach4kids, Aug 11, 2007.

1. Teach4kids

Teach4kids Guest

Aug 11, 2007

I am also a first year teacher. My school loops 1st and 2nd grade. I am taking over the second grade class, for a teacher who is changing grades. She used something called Magic minutes last year. Where the students have a small calendar on their desk and make a tally on the day every time they are given a warning. At the end of the day you count up the tally and that is how many minutes they sit out. It seems like a good plan, but I wanted to use something different. Alll my team members told me I should use the old one because they already know it.I want to try something new. Please give me any advice you can!!!

3. LLteach

LLteach Rookie

Aug 13, 2007

I know that it is late in the summer, but I would highly recommend reading the book: Positive Discipline in the Classroom. It combines classroom discipline with class meetings and provides an excellent foundation for problem solving and community building all in one! I am a 3rd year teacher (I taught 2 years of 1st grade and am now moving to 2nd).

4. autumnpumpkin

autumnpumpkin Rookie

Aug 17, 2007

I think you should use your own discipline plan. Every teacher teaches differently. What works for one teacher, may not work for another. Besides the students are excited about the newness of a new school year. What has worked for you in the past? I use 1-2-3 Magic but I'm looking for something else. 1-2-3 Magic was good because students had to sit in time out for 3 minutes if I got to 3 warnings, they did not like this and so by the time I got to 2 they usually behaved better.

5. Teach4kids

Teach4kids Guest

Aug 18, 2007