Classroom Decorations

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by musicbug, Jul 26, 2002.

1. musicbug

musicbug Rookie

Jul 26, 2002

I'm a hopeless when it comes to creating classroom decorations. I usually use mass produced cut out letters and kits. This gets very expensive. Last year I didn't have a room of my own so I had no problem. The year before I was a school librarian so I'd come up with an idea and have each grade create the decorations to go with what ever the theme we were studying that particular month. With 4 grades each grade decorated the room twice. I have 1 board planned as a student created. Does anyone know easy tricks that can decorate the rest of the room? My art work is so poor I don't allow anyone over second grade to view it.Help!!!!:eek:

3. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Jul 26, 2002

4. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Jul 26, 2002

5. AngelaS

AngelaS Cohort

Jul 26, 2002

Good sites listed above.

I personally feel that creating original, breathtaking bulletin board displays is highly overrated and can become a ridiculous competition between teachers (because really, who else would care?). A neat attractive classroom is the main goal, so don't worry too much about your artwork!

I try to make bulletin boards that can remain unchanged for as long as possible. For example, I use background paper (try cloth or colorful fabric, too) and borders that can be used for the whole school year (no fall leaf borders that require changing to snowflake borders, etc.). If the display itself can be left up all year, all the better, like a birthday board, loose tooth graph, parent info board, etc.