Classroom & Behavior Management Advice

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Ms.N, Sep 21, 2010.

1. Ms.N

Ms.N New Member

Sep 21, 2010

I'm a first-year teacher with 4 students, and having a difficult time managing some of their behaviors. I know a lot of it is par for the course, and I'm trying not to take it personally, but I'm getting a bit discouraged.

The majority of the behaviors they display are "testing" me, but I've yet to find an effective way to get them back on track. 3 of them just laugh at me, no matter what I do.

I've done my best to not get flustered or let them know that I'm frustrated, but I'm sure that they're able to read my emotions despite my best efforts to hide them.

How do I get them to take me seriously and follow my instructions instead of thinking I'm just a big joke? Anyone have any pearls of wisdom....or better yet, a magic wand? :blush:

3. bros

bros Phenom

Sep 21, 2010

What behaviors are they doing to test you?

What kind of population are you dealing with (LD, MR, etc.)?

4. Ms.N

Ms.N New Member

Sep 22, 2010

I have pre-k kiddos, and they vary. A couple of AU, ADHD, etc. The biggest issue is just that I have no control over them. At any given moment I may have two running around squealing, chasing each other and getting the others riled up as well. It seems like even if I can get 2 calmed down and seated for an activity, at least 1 of the others is back up running, or crawling under the table, or taking off their shoes, etc. And when I try to redirect or stop the behaviors they just grin and/or say "no" and/or laugh, etc.