Class Scissors

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by intern09, Jul 20, 2009.

1. intern09

intern09 Rookie

Jul 20, 2009

I don't have a set of scissors for my students (5th grade) and I am not sure if my school will provide me with the scissors (it is my first year). I emailed my mentor, but have yet to receive a response. If I have to buy them myself what is a good price? I have seen children's size scissors recently at Walmart for about 88 cents.

Does anyone know of a place to get a better price?

Thank you! :)

3. little317

little317 Groupie

Jul 21, 2009

The scisssors may be on the children's school supply list. Check with the office staff to see if they can get a hand on any kind of school supply list for your grade level. Walmart has some really reasonable prices on scissors, especially now with all the sales. Even if you don't buy a whole class set, you may want to at least get enough for a small group, say 5 or 6 pair.

4. gab

gab Comrade

Jul 21, 2009

Families receive supply lists with spring report cards. Scissors are listed for all grades. We hope families will provide them for their child/ren. Most do. Have you checked to see if your school gives supply lists out? If they do you may not need to purchase any. I also have extra pairs, about 8, for students who don't bring them or misplace them-borrowing them as needed. I like Fiskars, not concerned about the price, looking for quality. Good luck!

5. intern09

intern09 Rookie

Jul 21, 2009

Unfortunately we are not allowed to ask the students to bring any supplies. We are supposed to provide everything. I heard all Utah schools are this way, but my school is in a very low income area. The school will reimburse us though.

6. msmullenjr

msmullenjr Devotee

Jul 21, 2009

Lucky Duck if you get your money back. LOL

Last week Staples had sets of two student scissors for a dollar. If they go on sale again teachers get better limits.