Class rules HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by jaszmyn, Jul 9, 2005.

1. jaszmyn

jaszmyn Comrade

Jul 9, 2005

I will be teaching for the first time in august (Kindergarten). I have been reading the first days of school and came up with a short list of rules and a sketch of a discipline plan the I think may work in my classroom. I did my studnet teaching in the same county that I will be teaching. It is a urban, low to middle income nieghborhood. My principal said I should have no more than seventeen students and a Para that rotates between the three kindergarten classes. Here are my rules....
    1. Follow all directions given by an adult
    2. Keep hands and feet to yourself
    3. Be kind to others
    4. Always do your best

I kept it simple, but let me know what you think...or if I may have left off anything important. Since I have very little experience I would like to know what you guys think about these rules and the kinders (I did my student teaching in first grade).

I really like the pull a card method of behavior management-- let me know what you think about this or what is better.

Thanks in advance for your valuable input :) :angel:

3. alilisa

alilisa Habitué

Jul 9, 2005

I do use the pull a card method and it works for me. I have even gotten other teachers to try and they also love it! :) Your rules look great. Always keep it simple-one suggestion though (from experience) for rule #2 you might want to state it; Keep hands, feet and objects to yourself.
    Good Luck in Kindergarten. I have been in Kinder for 6 years and love it. Will you be teaching in an allday, everyday program or alternate days? Enjoy the rest of your summer, if you can! :)

4. jaszmyn

jaszmyn Comrade

Jul 9, 2005

Oh!! I also liked Use your manners as another rule and walking in the hallway and raising your hand before you speak . But I only wnated a fewsometimes you can't decide whats important.