Circle time- Do you sit in a chair or on the floor?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by brejohnson88, Nov 7, 2010.

1. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Nov 7, 2010

Hello,
    I went to a staff development day for pre-k last Friday and we were learning about how to teach kids social emotional skills. We watched lots of videos on how teachers deal with circle time. In most of the videos, the teacher was sitting on the floor. I got to thinking, what do most teachers do? I wouldnt mind sitting on the floor, but how to you situate the seating so all kids can see the calendar? Also, what does the teacher do when you are going over calendar? Do they use a chair or stand up? I feel like when I stand up I am hovering over the kids. This is my first year so I would like some advice on how others do it.
    Thanks! :wub:

3. Muttling

Muttling Devotee

Nov 7, 2010

I teach high school, but I think the same conventions apply.

I was at a really good in service 2 years ago that discussed body language and contact in great detail.

Most of it was to be mindful of being intimidating or making the student uncomfortable (both physically and emotionally.)

When you are over them, they must crane their head up to look at you which is physically awkward. Try to keep it so they are looking straight or (even better) slightly down.

Also, if you are over them and in close proximity to them you are taking a very domineering position which is can be intimidating. This is especially true for students from Asian and South American cultures.

Finally there was the question of physical contact. It would be easy for us as teachers to simply say no contact at all, but that's just not realistic in a school setting and is even detrimental to the youngest ones who have just come out of home where there is constant physical contact. That whole discussion was well over an hour long, but it all comes down to being mindful of the message you are sending.