Christmas Ornament Ideas

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by applecore, Nov 12, 2011.

1. applecore

applecore Devotee

Nov 12, 2011

Sorry, but it's that time of year again for planning out what we're going to do for Christmas at my school.

I've looked all through A to Z and out in the web for cheap that I can slap a cute little picture of the student on and call it good to send home to their parents. I love glitter, glue, and paint, and I'm willing to spend a few bucks to make it; although I'm partial to our die cut machine and construction paper, so I'd rather not spend when I don't need to. I'm a cheap teacher that likes to recycle and use what we have for kids to make meaningful things. The irony in that sentence makes me laugh:lol:.

Any suggestions?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 12, 2011

Little lambs:Trace kids hands on black construction paper. Kids glue cotton balls on palm section, one cotton ball on 'thumb'...glue googly eye on thumb...the other fingers are the legs...tie red ribbon around neck. On back glue a little photo of the kid and write 'Merry Christmas from your little lamb'

EEK...just saw you are grade 3...that kind of changes things...how about apple sauce ornaments or make calendars in the tech lab? I make a family favorites cookbook with my third graders.

4. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Nov 12, 2011

5. 1st-yr-teacher

1st-yr-teacher Comrade

Nov 12, 2011

Snowman ornaments. I do this every year.

Here is a link:

http://www.littlegiraffes.com/christmas.html

Scroll down and the craft is on the right hand side. It is a Handprint Snowman Ornament.

My kids are in 2nd and they love it.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 12, 2011

Our kindergarten does the handprints snowmen on votive candle cups.

7. applecore

applecore Devotee

Nov 12, 2011

Thank you for the ideas!