Christmas Gifts

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by kjteaches2, Nov 7, 2007.

1. kjteaches2

kjteaches2 New Member

Nov 7, 2007

I am new to 2nd grade and was wondering if anyone had a good idea for Christmas gifts for this age group?

3. janlee

janlee Devotee

Nov 7, 2007

I use my Scholastic points and buy books. Each student gets two. I also put together a hot chocolate baggie to go along with the books. I buy Christmas cellophane bags from the dollar store. In the bag I put a Christmas or winter scent mug, two hot chocolate packets, a candy cane, and a small sandwich bag of marshmallows. I put the books and baggie into a larger bag, tie with raffia and a gift tag and a poem I made up. Very inexpensive. Total cost for all about $4-$5 dollars. (I always hunt for the mugs at garage sales, rummage sales and stock up.)

4. taraes1982

taraes1982 Rookie

Nov 8, 2007

I do the same with the scholastic points. You can also just buy books from scholastic if you don't have any points yet...they have a lot of books for a dollar. I usually get one of those cellophane bags....put in a book from scholastic, then add a christmas pencil, a dollar store ornament with their name written on the back, and a candy cane. Very cheap. If you buy everything at the dollar store, and just your points for the books, it's just a couple bucks per student.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 8, 2007

I do about the same- Scholastic book, hot chocolate pack, some Hershey's kisses...Little Debbie makes the cutest Gingerbread men snacks. I buy several boxes as soon as I see them in the store! (they sell out quick) and pop one of those in the bag with the book and hot choc too.

Snowman soup is a cute idea too- look here:

http://www.craftsayings.com/projects/seasonal/winter/snowman_soup/index.shtml

6. taraes1982

taraes1982 Rookie

Nov 12, 2007