Christmas gifts for kids?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by kandb435, Nov 22, 2005.

1. kandb435

kandb435 Rookie

Nov 22, 2005

I am a new teacher and have absolutely no idea what I should get my class for Christmas! I thought about just getting a "class gift", buying something they could all use and would love (no ideas for that yet!). But, I was also thinking I should get them something individually. I just don't know what to get considering I have 28 students and don't have a lot of money to spend or a lot of time to spend making things... Any ideas would be helpful!

Krista
    4th Grade taecher

3. Ali

Ali Companion

Nov 22, 2005

I usually get something from Oriental Trading, although I've found the Dollar Tree to be a better deal! I get things like card games or some kind of toy. The class gift is a good idea too. Seriously, check the Dollar Tree if you have one or some store like it. Keep in mind, it's the thought that counts and we don't have to get extravagant!

4. Rosieo

Rosieo Enthusiast

Nov 22, 2005

I always use my bonus points from Scholastic Book Clubs to buy each child a book. No out of pocket expense here because I do have a large class.

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Nov 22, 2005

I always give each child a book at Christmas and at the end of the year. I use bonus coupons from Scholastic and pick up cheap novels when I see them here or there. (Oh, and this year they are each getting a thin, black marker because I am tired of them borrowing mine and not returning them!)

6. 1stferg

1stferg Comrade

Nov 22, 2005

Dollar Tree and Oriental trading both have those puzzle books. I give it to them early in the morning on the last day. It is usually a busy and chaotic day. Puzzle books keep them entertained and out of trouble.

7. love2teach

love2teach Enthusiast

Nov 22, 2005

I also use bonus points to get them books ....does not cost me a thing and it sends a good message!

8. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Nov 22, 2005