Choosing a subject to teach

Discussion in 'General Education' started by inspireNteach, Jan 29, 2014.

1. inspireNteach

inspireNteach Rookie

Jan 29, 2014

How did you settle on what subject you're currently teaching? Was it your endgame when you first started out/went through school?

What should be taken in to account when choosing a subject? Aside from, "do what you enjoy."

Any suggestions for those choosing a subject and going through school? Should they consider the job market, first and foremost? That said, are special ed and middle grades math and science the only subjects that "make sense," for aspiring teachers to pursue?

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Jan 29, 2014

No, teaching was not my first choice when I was in school. I teach the subject that I studied as an undergrad.

4. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Jan 29, 2014

The same here (mostly). I never wanted to be a teacher, but my first love/passion is in a dying industry so my parents told me to major in education (for the job stability). I do LOVE history so I chose to major in secondary education and history. But, I don't always get to teach the specific courses that I want to - I teach whatever I'm told to that year (ancient history, geography, us history, world history, random social studies electives).

If I had the patience, I would get the special education certification because that field seems to be hot everywhere, while middle grades may not be as marketable. In Maryland, your certification is in grades K to 6 or 7 to 12. A degree in secondary math and biology are in high demand here, as well as elem education and special education.

5. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

Jan 29, 2014