Choosing a grade level...K or 1st...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by New2NC, Dec 1, 2007.

1. New2NC

New2NC Rookie

Dec 1, 2007

I have recently moved to NC and attended a job fair today. Several offers were given, and I have narrowed it down to two. Although certified in K-6, and also Special Ed, I have been teaching 1st grade for three years and 2nd for one year (that being the first grade I taught). I'm trying to decide whether to stay in 1st grade or take a Kindergarten position. Any words of wisdom to help me decide?? I really love the school that offered me the 1st grade position, but the faculty for the Kindergarten position was great as well.

3. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Dec 1, 2007

Well, ask yourself if you will be happy stepping down the pace a little and being in a classroom with much younger children. The leap from K-1st is tremendous. You will have to teach them what it means to line up, where the bathroom is, why we have to share, no, you can't go play with blocks in the middle of our phonics lesson, wash your hands, this is how we line up in the cafeteria, etc. So, if you will be happy with a younger group, and able to break down things into even smaller steps, and able to accept the really young kindergartener who is very immature, maybe K would be good. I have found that Kinder teachers are unique people and need a strong humor and interest in these little ones.

I teach first, and I don't think I could do the K thing. I would honestly like to try 2nd because they are more independent and not afraid to spell by themselves!!!!!

4. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Dec 1, 2007