Child with diabetes

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by tgtbtj, Aug 11, 2013.

1. tgtbtj

tgtbtj Companion

Aug 11, 2013

Hi all, I was hoping someone on here can help clear up some questions. Our school is starting school this coming Monday and a mom approached me on parent night letting me know that her child has diabetes and that she would need to have her blood/sugar level checked daily before lunchtime. Now the problem is that our school does not have a nurse and I have zero experience doing this. Can anyone one here tell me what would be necessary in order to check a child's blood/sugar level? Can anyone do it, do I need to be certified? Do I need to have the mother sign a liability form? I hope you guys can help :help:

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Aug 11, 2013

If the child is old enough, she can do it herself. It's a fairly simple process. You swipe the fingertip with an alcohol pad. Let the alcohol dry so it doesn't hurt as much. You use a device with a lancet that pricks the finger and then touch the end of the test strip that is inserted into a meter. The meter will give you a number. Any treatment will depend on that number. The mom should have that info for you. You'll need a used sharps container to put the used lancets and needles if she has to have insulin.

If you have to do the testing for her and especially if you have to administer insulin, I'd ask for training so you feel more confident. Since it involves blood, you'd have to follow blood born pathogen protocols.

4. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Aug 11, 2013

You need to be given more info!