Chica Chica Boom Boom Lesson

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by disneyjen0504, Nov 10, 2006.

1. disneyjen0504

disneyjen0504 Rookie

Nov 10, 2006

Hi all! I am a grad student doing my student teaching in Kindergarten. I need to present a lesson to my peers as if they were a kindergarten class. I love the story Chica Chica Boom Boom and I recall seeing some really great lessons online that incorporated the story. Now of course I can't find any of them! I have read this story with my kindergarteners but was not able to make a lesson out of it at the time.
    Was wondering if anyone had any good ideas (or can point me in the right direction on the web) to incorporate the story Chica Chica Boom Boom into a lesson.
    THANKS!

3. ellen_a

ellen_a Groupie

Nov 10, 2006

run a google search using the following phrase: chicka chicka unit

you'll return a bunch of stuff--the virtual vine is prominent, and that site is usually a big help for the kinder level stuff.

good luck!

4. TXTCHR29

TXTCHR29 Cohort

Nov 10, 2006

Something that we did at the beginning of the year was make a tree using our hand prints for the top of the tree. I painted the students hands green and made prints at the top of the page and then had the students draw the trunk of the tree using a brown crayon. I then gave the students letter stickers and they had to make their name on the tree. You could also have students make basic sight words, since its later in the school year. I got the idea from either hubbardscupboard.com or the virtualvine.com. both of these sights have a lot of Chicka Chicka ideas.

5. Heart2Heart

Heart2Heart Rookie

Nov 10, 2006

I love that story. I also had my class make a tree and put color alphabet stickers on the trunk and up the tree. I have also seen a plastic palm tree at oriental that one teacher put sand in and displayed in her class to go with the story..

6. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Nov 10, 2006