Chemistry/Physical Science Advice

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by calister23, Nov 4, 2016.

1. calister23

calister23 Guest

Nov 4, 2016

Hello,

I am set to take over chemistry and physical science courses on Monday. The students have had multiple subs from the start of school. My background is in life science. So what I am needing advice about is I don't know how to prepare for Monday. I met with the current sub but didn't really get any information other than that the students have been shuffled around due to the subs not having a science background. I tried reaching out to other teachers today but didn't get any results.

I'm nervous going in on Monday because I won't have any lessons left behind for me and I'm just overall not sure where to even start since I don't know where they are at. Any tips on how to get started or how to at least get through Monday until I can meet with the other science teachers and hopefully get an idea of where they are at or where they should be. I would be less overwhelmed if the class I was taking over was biology but since it's something I'm less familiar with I am extremely nervous jumping in with no idea how to get started.

Thank you in advance!

3. Puppet Debris

Puppet Debris Rookie

Nov 5, 2016

Sounds like a class no one else wanted. Sad that many students who hate school are forced to take Chemistry, Algebra 2, physics, etc. Sad that many teachers have to water these subjects down and still give credit as if legitimate Chem, Alg.2, Physics courses. Maybe you should not follow the text. Maybe you should show what you know. I am guessing the following will get you by for a week.