Cheapest place to buy the books I want for my classroom library?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by crunchytxmama, Aug 23, 2011.

1. crunchytxmama

crunchytxmama Companion

Aug 23, 2011

I'm a second year teacher and still working on building my classroom library. I have hit up Goodwill multiple times since I started teaching. I find a lot of great chapter books, but have a hard time finding good quality picture books that my kids will read. I'm at the point where I want specific books. Where is the best place to buy, perhaps a lot of books by a certain author? The best price I've found is to buy the books in lots on ebay for what works out to about $2.50 a book. Can I find a better price anywhere else?

3. rosebuddie3

rosebuddie3 Rookie

Aug 23, 2011

Try these...

have you ever tried Scholastic Books, you can get the students' orders, you get free books/coupons, etc. Also, yard sales, antique places (unbelievably!) and library sales are good places. Additionally, you could have a swap within your classroom, the school, community--I know of churches and other nonprofits that do this. Good luck!:)

4. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Aug 23, 2011

Have you tried Ebay or even Freecycle? I got tons of books on tapes years ago on Ebay rather cheap. Freecycle, post on there asking for books. Someone may have some good hand-me-downs of their kids' books.

5. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Aug 23, 2011

Too bad you aren't close to a 2nd & Charles...
    http://2ndandcharles.com/
    I discovered the one near me. I was impressed with the children's book section.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 23, 2011

Library book sales

Garage sales

Scholastic...you won't have to pay shipping ( which really adds to the price of 'cheap' books you find elsewhere online), you earn points for free books