charter vs long term sub position

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by daisycay, Oct 7, 2011.

1. daisycay

daisycay Rookie

Oct 7, 2011

I was offered a job at a charter school, which I know is not going to be ideal. The classrooms are tiny, they have nothing as far as resources. I applied for an ELA job which I am certified to teach, but I did my student teaching in Science. So I have no ELA experience and will be teaching 90 minute blocks. Plus this is mid-October so I will have no time to plan, they will just be throwing me in there. The charter doesn't even have a library. There are only 3 middle school teachers so there is not much support. I have not accepted the job because I have a long term sub job lined up with a teacher I know in a public school, which is nice and has resources. It's in Science and I already know all the science teachers I'm working with because I long term subbed with them last year.

So here is the problem, the charter is a full time job and will get my first year of teaching under my belt, but I have a relationship with the Science department at the public school and hope that it will lead to a job. This is my second year subbing. The first year of teaching is hard enough so I'm really hesitate to take the charter job. I don't know though, any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks

3. elateacher4life

elateacher4life Cohort

Oct 7, 2011

Tough decision. Go with your instinct on this one. I personally would prefer to have my own classroom and get my first year of teacher under my belt.

4. Geauxtee

Geauxtee Comrade

Oct 8, 2011

I'm in the same position as you. I taught ELA last year, but accepted a science position. (It's at a high poverty public school, so there are resources but I'm probably going to have to provide tons of stuff anyway).