charter schools and private schools

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by seesee, Aug 15, 2007.

1. seesee

seesee Rookie

Aug 15, 2007

HI,ALL,

I am new to the education system, and i have a question about charter school and private school. are the charter schools public schools? and how to find the job in the charter and private schools?
    i know the public school post their openings. and is it very low pay in these 2 kinds of schools? if i can't find a job in public schools, i will try private and charter's. i really do not want to sub.

Thanks.

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Aug 15, 2007

It depends on the area, but all of the charter schools in my area are public schools. They are funded by the state and must follow all of the state regulations (licensed teachers, standardized tests, etc). The charter schools in my area also tend to post their openings in the newspaper and on their websites just like the regular public schools do. Private schools don't seem to advertise their openings quite as much, though.

Again, this differs from place to place, but where I live the charter schools pay just about the same as the regular public schools. The private schools (which near me are almost all religious schools) pay much, much less. Last year I taught in a private school and was paid about 1/3 of what the public schools pay and this year I'm working in a charter school and making more than most of the public schools in the area.

4. seesee

seesee Rookie

Aug 15, 2007

thank you so much. it is so valuable for me, because tomorrow i am going to find some charter schools. i hope they are still looking for math teachers. Hi, how did you find your job? newspaper? or just call each schools? and most importantly, are the charter schools under district public school administration? i do not like that. they do not have a fair condition for us ORDINARY people.

thanks again.

5. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Aug 15, 2007