Changing student focus

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by GTB4GT, Jan 18, 2019.

1. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Jan 18, 2019

I am a teacher who entered the profession after numerous years in other fields. I have noticed that 95% (guesstimate) of all conversations, discussions, meetings. formal or informal conversations, etc. that I have with my students are centered around grades, grading policies, extra credit, etc. The other 5% is about the actual content and understanding the material. Imo, the ratios should be reversed...If you understand he material, the grades will take care of themselves. Is my thinking incorrect here?

For discussion sake, or just for my own curiosity, what is happening in the process such that students are unable to connect the dots. How can we address this issue? Do you perceive it as an issue? I have taught at 2 schools and the 95/5 proportion has been roughly the same at both. And these 2 schools have been at the opposite ends of the socio-economic spectrum fwiiw. Thanks for any and all comments..

ms.irene likes this.
  3. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Jan 18, 2019

I agree that our system puts the focus on grades rather than content. We all have those kids (and parents) who are obsessed with their grades, but don't seem at all concerned about whether they have actually learned anything. I also have seen students who were very engaged in class discussions about content, but rarely turned in work and didn't seem motivated by grades at all. I have heard the "old timers" say they thought it got worse once we went to online grade systems that let kids and parents see their grades for every assignment instantly. I really don't think this is a new problem, though -- I remember being in high school in the 90's and one of my snarky teachers calling us (Honors students) "greedy grade grubbers." The only difference I see is that back then teachers could get away with calling it like they saw it, lol!

4. a2z

a2z Maven

Jan 18, 2019