Changing Jobs

Discussion in 'General Education' started by NewTeacher12345, Apr 10, 2021.

1. NewTeacher12345

NewTeacher12345 Rookie

Apr 10, 2021

I need advice on switching from one district to another. I feel like "quitting" is such an awkward thing to do, but maybe that's just because I never have. I have been teaching first grade at a school in my home town for the last two years. It was my very first teaching job out of college. Now, I am realizing I get payed basically nothing to do everything and just want to work somewhere else. I have become close with all of my coworkers as well so its tough. But, my question is, how do I go about this process? Is it necessary to get a letter of rec from the principal or others at my school? Then what if I don't get a job elsewhere? They will think I am not committed to the school I am at. Ugh this is all just very uncomfortable and I don't know how to go about it. Any advice from someone who has done this would be greatly appreciated!!

3. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Apr 10, 2021

I have switched sites, but not districts. I let my admin know I was looking, but I had tenure so I wasn't worried about being let go. Because I was moving from middle to high school, I was able to frame my search with that as the focus, which wasn't the whole story, but sounded reasonable.

You will almost certainly need two or three letters to apply for most jobs. If you decide to search, you should try to come up with an explanation that won't insult people or lead them to question your commitment to teaching. Reasonable examples include relocation, better pay, reducing commute time, or wanting to teach different grade or content area.

I do wonder about your current situation. What are the potential improvements that you see in moving? Are salary schedules very different at other districts? Also, for me, the first year at a new site was hard. Not first year of teaching hard, but nonetheless, pretty difficult.