changing jobs after 3 months

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by daisycay, Dec 30, 2011.

1. daisycay

daisycay Rookie

Dec 30, 2011

Basically I took a job at a Charter School in October. It was the first offer I had recieved after subbing for over a year. The charter seemed great when I interviewed, I had interviewed at some scary charters and this on seemed to be ok. That said I know charters can go either way, but I figured I could last a year. Now I am starting to reconsider. I'm the only teacher at my grade level so as a first year teacher I have no mentor and am pretty much left to fend for myself. The main problems are lack of communication and discipline. There is none. Plus I know 100% that this school's main focus is on what the owner wants not what is best for the students. I know it could be worse but I drive an hour to work and get paid very little. I student taught and have done some long term sub jobs that were at wonderful public schools. . I thought that my first year of teaching would be in a place were I could learn from and collaborate with other teachers. I'm applying for other jobs and hope something comes up. I do like my kids but this job is making me feel isolated, I just don't feel like a teacher I feel more like a babysitter. Has anyone had to leave mid year or after a few months? What about the students? Did you feel guilty for leaving them? I know I will not be back next year.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 30, 2011