Changing from Teaching to...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by lily38, Feb 9, 2015.

1. lily38

lily38 Rookie

Feb 9, 2015

I've been teaching for a couple of years now and I'm starting to think that I might be burned out after about 5 years. I love my students, but the requirements my school has for teachers and the constant walkthroughs are wearing me out.

I enjoyed reading one of the other threads about careers outside of the classroom. I was wondering if anyone knew of a teacher that had become an SLP. I've been looking into it and it would be a lot of extra schooling that isn't cheap. I'm wondering if anyone knows a teacher who has made this move and is happy with their decision. The actually job doesn't seem that exciting, but it does seem like there is less stress and you still get to have a positive impact on students.

What are your thoughts? Or what have you heard from SLPs in general? Thanks.

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Feb 9, 2015

Our SLPs still get walkthroughs and observations. They're evaluated just like any other teacher. They still have a lot of stress. They're just stressing over different things. Scheduling is a nightmare for them, and they have to participate in a ton of meetings. Not to mention all the communicating and collaborating with other teachers who aren't really open to it. With that said, I think they both love their jobs, but I don't think it's any less stress.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 9, 2015

You might read some of Ms I's SLP psts. Or IM her.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Feb 10, 2015