Certification Problem

Discussion in 'General Education' started by deserttrumpet, Nov 23, 2007.

1. deserttrumpet

deserttrumpet Comrade

Nov 23, 2007

I am currently teaching for my 2nd year under an emergency certificate. According to my colleagues and my principal I am doing a great job, that I am a natural teacher. However, just having someone say I am a good teacher isn’t enough to be highly qualified, so I am taking on-line classes to meet these requirements. I just finished taking my finials and finished up a very stressful semester for me (taking multiple credit hours and teaching three different preps at the high school). The first two tests I took I breezed through and did very well on. The last test, however, I only earned a 76%. Here is where my problem enters. The particular school I am going through has a policy that if you do not score a B or better on your midterm & final they will not count any of your homework grades, which automatically bumps you down to a D, which is not passing in their book. If they were to count my homework grades I would have earned a B in the class. To become certified through their program I must retake this class (pay for it over again, do all the work, etc). I am really upset by this. I have never been a D student before and don’t believe that I am one now. Beyond that, having earned a D is enough to have me kicked out of the program. This means, with the exception of having the classes on a transcript, all of the other classes I took were for nothing. I only have two more classes left to take and I am done. I want to be highly qualified by the end of the school year and the only thing that is holding me back is a few education classes. My question is: is this common practice in education classes? Should I find another program this late in the game (I live in a small city, all classes would have to be online or a 70 mile commute)? Should I try to fight this? In essence, what are your opinions? Thanks.

3. MissFroggy