Center Rotation Management Ideas

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Pannsx4, May 14, 2007.

1. Pannsx4

Pannsx4 Rookie

May 14, 2007

Does anyone have a rotation plan for literacy centers? I am looking for any ideas and how you communicate the rotation schedule to the students. Pictures would be great of your pocket chart, etc.

Thank you!!

PS I am a fifth grade.

3. sevenplus

sevenplus Connoisseur

May 19, 2007

I'm a K teacher (and I don't have any pictures) so this may or may not be applicable to you. But I do centers twice a day (literacy centers in the a.m. and math/science centers in the pm) and even my kindergartners can independently find their center and rotate through the centers.

I have 9 literacy centers. They are numbered and I have the numbers posted around the room at the actual center as well as numbers on index cards in a pocket chart. I have my students' names on sticks (tongue depressors) so I can easily mix up the groups week to week. The sticks are simply put in the pocket chart next to whatever center I want them to start at. When it is time to start centers, they just have to find their name in the pocket chart to see what center they are going to. We rotate through the centers (2 or 3 a day until they have done all of them). When the timer rings to note it is time to change centers, they just clean up and move to their next center (in numeric order). The centers are roughly arranged in a circle around the room. I do not switch the cards in the chart between centers. They know where to go and I am busy reading with students. I do switch the cards at the end of the day (or the next morning) to remind students which center they will be starting at that day.