center crazy

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by justright, Jul 25, 2005.

1. justright

justright Rookie

Jul 25, 2005

I will be a third grade teacher next year. I am not that comfortable with reading workshop. What should my kids do when they go into groups. I am looking for task cards/activity cards, group activities, or activities that have worked for you. thanks a lot :confused:

3. newbie3teacher

newbie3teacher Rookie

Jul 25, 2005

I am a new teacher this year. I will be teaching third grade also. Our school is hosting a workshop given by Kagan. It's all on cooperative learning. It is excellent and the books that they have are really worth it. Fortunately, for attending the workshop, you get a book and a binder on cooperative learning. If you go to www.kaganonline.com you will be able to find some great books and ideas on how to have fun while learning and actively engaging your class. Good luck!!! :)

4. teacher62604

teacher62604 Companion

Jul 25, 2005

I'm a 3rd grade teacher too. I do "word sorts" in groups with my students. It's where they cut out letters that you give them and try to make words. Then you have them make certain words in a certain order to learn spelling and phonics patterns.
    [​IMG]

5. camcdade

camcdade Comrade

Jul 26, 2005

I also teach third... I could go on and on about what to do during your Reader's Workshop time, but my best advice is to go (stop now and order it!) :D get the book Guiding Readers and Writers Grades 3-6 by Fountas and Pinnell. It has been the best resource for me. The book outlines in detail how to set up Reader's Workshop (including a section about Guided Reading and centers), Writer's Workshop, and Word Study. Each chapter has at least 6 weeks of lesson plans for introducing these blocks in your classroom. You can see the book at Amazon.com here:
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...102-7498881-4688149?v=glance&s=books&n=507846