CBEST study guides?

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by robotman, Jan 27, 2006.

1. robotman

robotman Rookie

Jan 27, 2006

I graduated with a BS in Biology in 1990. After 16 years of biotech laboratory automation experience, I've decided to become a teacher. At this point, I'm totally overwhelmed at everything I need to do just to get into a teaching program!

Although the test seems relatively basic, I'm sure there are lots of specifics that I'm not familar with. I'm sure this has been asked many times before, but what are some good resources to get ready for the CBEST?

Does the online sample test sufficiently prepare you for the test content?

Thanks!

3. bobniborg

bobniborg Rookie

Jan 27, 2006

If you can ace the online sample, the test should be easy for you. Brush up on some old school math (circumference, etc) and maybe some writing (depends on you, my friend that is a "science guy" doesn't write so well. Remember, the five paragraph essay is your friend.)

4. Malcolm

Malcolm Enthusiast

Jan 27, 2006

Don't have a source of study guides for CBEST. Didn't use one.

I don't think the online sample test will prepare you for the real thing. But I do think it gives you a good idea of how you will do.

Not much to say about the reading section. It was pretty similar to the online sample test.

The math is really basic. IMHO the only thing you might need to check into is ways standardized test scores are presented: percentile, stanine, grade level, etc. There were three questions about this kind of stuff in the math section when I took CBEST.

By all means, bone up on how to write a five paragraph essay, and the differences in writing for different purposes, e.g. persuasive v. emotive. That is what they are looking for. I passed with no preparation, but my score did not reflect the skill level I consider myself to have to business and technical writing.

5. robotman

robotman Rookie

Jan 27, 2006