CBEST reading section - HARD??

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by dandoosha, Jul 30, 2009.

1. dandoosha

dandoosha Rookie

Jul 30, 2009

Hi,

I am studying to take the CBEST and did a practice test yesterday (reading section only) which I failed horribly. I guess I wasnt quite sure how the test worked so some answers that seemed right were not the "best" answers. I'm wondering how hard the actual test is and what tricks should I know to easily pass the section. I am a very proficient reader and have no problem analyzing information which is why I am so baffled as to why I would have such a hard time.

Any info is appreciated.

Dana.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 30, 2009

Where did you find the practice test?

4. dandoosha

dandoosha Rookie

Jul 31, 2009

It was in a book I borrowed from the library. I dont have the name of it here, but Ill get it for you.

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 31, 2009

Ah. Have you tried the practice test that's on the CBEST Web site?

6. amaryllis

amaryllis Rookie

Aug 10, 2009

Don't take it personally: just try to make sure you improve what you can. I think these tests are absurd, particularly when testing subjective things. The advice from book to book often varies.

I'm partway through an English MA in English and have worked at a college writing center. I've also worked as a freelance copyeditor for years. I'm still bombing about 6-8 questions per test (I've taken 8 or so practice tests now) so I share your confusion. Do your best and try not to get upset at the test: the answers don't always make much sense.

Had to take the GRE a few years ago and it was the same feeling.

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 10, 2009

amaryllis, if you did fine on GRE, you should have no trouble with CBEST.

8. amaryllis

amaryllis Rookie

Aug 11, 2009