CBEST MATHEMATICS

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by cma211991, Aug 26, 2017.

1. cma211991

cma211991 Rookie

Aug 26, 2017

Hi everyone. August 25th I took the CBEST Math exam and failed again for the fourth attempt. i got a scaled score of 31 but I have improved so much since the first three times, what I am a little unnerved by is that there were certain problems that were not discussed in workshops or even in any of the many copies of the books i studied out of. For example there are various hexagons in array of designs that asks to fine th perimeter.

another problem was weight for example 58 blocks is equivalent to 27 lbs. 1 block is equivalent to X pounds but round to nearest hundredths... the questions are not very clear on those type of problems...

theres a few other that i struggled with but i don't remember.... my brain is a little overwhelmed from yesterday... I am nonetheless going to be reviewing yet again so i can retake in a little over a month...

3. DAH

DAH Companion

Aug 26, 2017

[QUOTE="cma211991
    • the CBEST Math exam and failed again for the fourth attempt.
    • hexagons in array of designs that asks to fine the perimeter.
    • 58 blocks is equivalent to 27 lbs. 1 block is equivalent to X pounds but round to nearest hundredths......[/QUOTE]
    Hi Cma: Have you tried TeachersTestPrep dot com?
    They were wonderful in helping me pass the CSET MS exam. They have online prep videos to help with passing CBEST.

As for the hexagon problem...hmmm, if I remember correctly, count the number of sides, then multiply the side length by 6 ...(double-check that :)).

The 58 blocks question is a proportion. 58/27 = 1/X, find the answer, then round it off.
    Good luck

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 26, 2017